

The High Level Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom

Tel: 02078420090

emily.foale@int-bar.org / zara.iqbal@int-bar.org

14 August 2024

Statement to Media Freedom Coalition from Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury, Chair of the High Level Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom.

Some months ago, I had raised the possibility of standing down as Chair of the High Level Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom, not least because I would shortly have been in post for five years, but also because of concern expressed about my position as a non-permanent Judge in Hong Kong.

I have now concluded that I should go now, because it is undesirable that focus on my position as a non-permanent Judge in Hong Kong should take away, or distract, from the critical and impactful work of the High Level Panel.

It has been an enormous privilege and pleasure to work with so many intelligent, committed, and interesting people on such an important cause, and I would like to express my particular appreciation of the unstinting support and work carried out by the two Deputy Chairs, Can Yeginsu and Catherine Amirfar. I thank them and every member of the High Level Panel for the work they have done and wish them and the High Level Panel all the best for the future. My successor will be announced in due course.

Lord Neuberger of Abbotsbury

Chair of the High Level Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom

CHAIR:

Lord David Neuberger

DEPUTY CHAIRS:

Professor Can Yeginsu Catherine Amirfar

SPECIAL ADVISOR TO THE CHAIR:

Amal Clooney

MEMBERS:

Baroness Helena Kennedy KC

Hina Jilani

Dario Milo

Baroness Françoise Tulkens

Catherine Anite

The Honourable Irwin Cotler, PC, OC, OQ Karuna Nundy

Nadim Houry

Justice Manuel José Cepeda Espinosa

Judge Chile Eboe-Osuji Marietje Schaake Professor Seong-Phil Hong

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

Sarah Cleveland Galina Arapova Kyung-Sin Park Robert D. Sack