Consultative Network

The Consultative Network of the Media Freedom Coalition, created in January 2020, is a group of national, regional and international organisations that in collaboration with a much broader set of civil society groups, voluntarily provides advice to the MFC on the Coalition’s work and facilitates selection of cases that it believes require State intervention.

The key objectives of the Consultative Network (CN) are:

  • To present cases to the MFC for action – both cases of concern in countries where media freedom is at particular risk and cases of individual journalists or media outlets under threat. This includes sharing information on the situation and providing recommendations on what the MFC can do to address it;
  • To offer advice on present and future issues within media freedom and media development, including speaking at MFC events, and channelling suggestions from CSOs, media, journalists’ associations, and others to inform the MFC membership;
  • To monitor the work of the coalition and provide inputs on the day-to-day and strategic work of the MFC.


Logo Article19

ARTICLE 19, Silvia Chocarro (Co-chair)

IFEX, Rachael Kay (Co-chair)

media action nepal

Media Action Nepal (MAN), Laxman Datt Pant (Co-chair)


Logo Article19

ARTICLE 19, Silvia Chocarro (Co-chair)

Logo AIB

Association for International Broadcasting, Thomas Wragg

Logo CPJ

Committee to Protect Journalists, Gypsy Guillen Kaiser

Logo DW akademie

DW Akademie, Jan Lublinski

Logo flip2

FLIP, Jonathan Bock

IFEX, Rachael Kay (Co-chair)

International Federation of Journalists

International Federation of Journalists, Jeremy Dear

Logo IMS2

International Media Support, Jesper Højberg

Logo International Press Institute

International Press Institute, Amy Brouillette

Logo Internews2

Internews, Abdurahman Sharif

Logo PPF

Pakistan Press Foundation, Owais Aslam Ali

Logo Public media alliance2

Public Media Alliance, Sally-Ann Wilson

Logo the guardian

The Guardian, Matt Rogerson


WAN-IFRA, Andrew Heslop

Logo RSF

Reporters without Borders, Antoine Bernard

Cambodian Center for Human Rights

Cambodian Center for Human Rights (CCHR), Sopheap Chak

Comite por la Libre

Comité por la Libre Expresión (C-Libre), Fernando Reyes


Free Press Unlimited (FPU), Leon Willems

Maharat Foundation

Maharat Foundation, Roula Mikhael

media monitoring africa

Media Monitoring Africa (MMA), William Bird


South East European Network for Professionalization of Media (SEENPM), Tihomir Loza

media action nepal

Media Action Nepal (MAN), Laxman Datt Pant (Co-chair)

Related content
Member Countries
Countries from six continents have joined the Media Freedom Coalition and are led by two rotating Co-chairs
High Level Panel of Legal Experts
The High Level Panel of Legal Experts on Media Freedom is an independent advisory body of the Media Freedom Coalition.
UNESCO participates in MFC discussions as an observer and makes its expertise and resources available to the MFC membership.
MFC Secretariat
The MFC Secretariat provides administrative and operational support to all areas of the Media Freedom Coalition’s work.